722 Followers
178 Following
maddan3

It's a Mad Mad World

Currently reading

Manderley Forever
Tatiana de Rosnay
Follow Free counters!
France Book Tours
Challenge Participant 80%

Cover Crush: The Weight of Night by Christine Carbo

 
For new visitors do I want to explain that Cover Crush is something that my friend Erin over at Flashlight Commentary came up with and I adopted the idea together with some other friends. And, now we try to put up a Cover Crush every week. You can check below my pick of the week for their choices this week!



In the magnificent and brutal terrain of Glacier National Park, a devastating forest fire reveals a long ago crime that may be connected to the recent disappearance of a young boy, from the award-winning author of The Wild Inside and Mortal Fall—perfect for fans of Nevada Barr and C.J. Box.

In a land sculpted by glaciers, the forest is on fire. Thick smoke chokes the mountain air and casts a twilight glow over the imposing mountains and vistas of Montana’s Glacier National Park. When firefighters are called in to dig fuel line breaks near the small town bordering the park, a crewmember is shocked to unearth a shallow grave containing human remains.

Park Police Officer Monty Harris is summoned to the site to conduct an excavation. But with a 2,500-degree incendiary monster threatening to barrel through the town and no forensic detective on hand, Monty must work outside protocol. So he seeks help from Gretchen Larson, the county’s lead crime scene investigator, and someone on whom Monty feels he can rely.

The two are working against the clock to determine the true identity of the victim when a teenager suddenly disappears from one of the campgrounds in Glacier. Could the cases somehow be connected? As chances for recovery of the missing boy grow slimmer and the FBI finds only dead ends, Gretchen and Monty desperately race to fit all the pieces together in time.

The Weight of Night is Christine Carbo’s latest book in a series which “paints a moving picture of complex, flawed people fighting to make their way in a wilderness where little is black or white” (Publishers Weekly). This gripping thriller is a tribute to the power of family, set against one of America’s most majestic and unforgiving landscapes.
 
 
The Weight of Night: A Novel of Suspense
Christine Carbo
Atria Books (Simon & Schuster)
FRONTLIST | June 6, 2017
ISBN 9781501156236, 1501156233
Trade Paperback | 304 pages 
Fiction / Crime
 
Some thoughts about the cover:
 
What I love about this cover is the glorious combination of black, red and yellow. The forest fire looks devastating and it really suits the book's description. Also, the font feels appropriate, clean cut, not and strong. It has stability and perfectly suits the background image.   
 
Check out what my friends have picked for Cover Crush's this week: