721 Followers
177 Following
maddan3

It's a Mad Mad World

Currently reading

Manderley Forever
Tatiana de Rosnay
Follow Free counters!
France Book Tours
 photo badge_proreader.png  photo badge_top_reviewer.png Challenge Participant 80%

L.A. Rotten blog tour + giveaway

Jeff Klima, author of L.A. Rotten, on tour May/June 2015

 

About L.A. Rotten

On Sale: May 12, 2015
Pages: 268
Published by : Alibi

 

For fans of Dexter and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Jeff Klima’s debut thriller is a chillingly suspenseful novel set in a world of violence and chaos—where one man finds himself right at home.

 

As an expert crime-scene cleaner, Thomas Tanner charges big money to carve out bullets, mop up fluids, disinfect walls, and dispose of whatever’s left of whomever was unlucky enough to require his services. For a handsome young ex-con determined to stay out of trouble, it’s practically a dream job—until he discovers a grisly pattern to his work: a string of gruesome murders at a cheap motel chain, always in Room 236.

While prying into a serial killer’s nasty scheme, Thomas finds himself with a sharp-witted strip-bar waitress plastered to his side—and his conscience. Even more surprising, the killer starts prying into his life, luring Thomas into a twisted friendship. As Thomas struggles against his adversary’s wicked whims, risking the lives of the few people he holds dear, bodies pile up everywhere he turns. With a psychopath calling the shots, Thomas has little choice but to clean house once and for all.

 

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

 

Review:

 

The info text say that this is for fans of Dexter and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I can't really see how you can in any way compare this book to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, well both books have serial killer, but hell, many books have serial killers in it. And, even though I enjoyed this book, it really don't feel like The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is the right book to compare this one to. 

Anyway, as I stated before I did enjoy the book. I liked the cat and mouse chase between Tom and the motel room killer. That Tom wasn't some ordinary guy that the killer could scare of made the book even better. I mean, Tom is an ex-con heroin addict who cleans up crime-scenes that have no problems with cutting up dead bodies for a gang. The killer may be a psychopath, but Tom has been through hell and he won't backdown from getting to find out who the killer is, and stop him. And, then we have Ivy, the waitress that he manages to get fired and then feel sorry for. I liked their relationship; he needed her in his life.

It was a good read. I did feel that this wasn't really my kind of book in the beginning when I started to read it. But I stuck with the book and soon I was caught up with the story. So it was a pleasant surprise and I wouldn't mind reading more from Jeff Klima.

 

 About Jeff Klima

Jeff Klima is the author of The Dead Janitors Club and the cofounder of Orange County Crime Scene Cleanup. 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Jeff Klima’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Monday, May 11th: Priscilla and Her Books

Tuesday, May 12th: The World As I See It

Thursday, May 14th: It’s a Mad Mad World

Monday, May 18th: Drey’s Library

Tuesday, May 19th: Patricia’s Wisdom

Wednesday, May 20th: From the TBR Pile

Wednesday, May 20th: Bell, Book & Candle

Friday, May 22nd: FictionZeal

Tuesday, May 26th: Booksie’s Blog

Monday, June 1st: A Chick Who Reads

Tuesday, June 2nd: Crime Fiction Lover

Tuesday, June 2nd: Lazy Day Books

Wednesday, June 3rd: Dwell in Possibility

Thursday, June 4th: Kay’s Reading Life

Monday, June 8th: Buried Under Books

Tuesday, June 9th: Queen of All She Reads

Wednesday, June 10th: No More Grumpy Bookseller

Thursday, June 11th: Rhodes Review