704 Followers
165 Following
maddan3

It's a Mad Mad World

Currently reading

Manderley Forever
Tatiana de Rosnay
Follow Free counters!
France Book Tours
Challenge Participant 80%

Consumption blog tour

Heather Herrman, author of Consumption, on tour May/June 2015

 

About Consumption

Published by : Hydra (May 26, 2015)
Pages: 288

 

For fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Sarah Langan comes a thrilling new vision of American horror. In Heather Herrman’s heart-pounding debut novel, evil is ready to feed—and it’s got one hell of an appetite.

 

In the wake of tragedy, John and Erma Scott are heading west in search of a new life. So when car trouble strands them in sleepy Cavus, Montana, they decide to stay for a while, charmed by the friendly residents and the surrounding ambiance. Here, they hope, is the healing balm that their marriage needs.

Then John and Erma find themselves in a fight not just to save their marriage, but their very lives. For this is no ordinary town. Its quiet streets conceal a dark and bloody secret that has slumbered for centuries. Now, that secret is awake . . . and it’s hungry.

 

Like a slow infection, evil is spreading through Cavus. Soon John and Erma—along with the local sheriff, an undocumented immigrant, a traumatized teenage girl, and an old man with terrible secrets of his own—must join together to battle an all-consuming force that has set its sights on its prey: the entire human race.

 

“Both the evil that suffuses the pages of Consumption and the motley gang of innocents who defend against it are much more interesting than those usually found in your average scare fare. Solid writing elevates this imaginative fright-fest from an invigorating new voice.”—Sophie Littlefield, bestselling author of the Aftertime series

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

 

Review: 

 

Welcome to Cavus, Montana. A charming little town with friendly residents and an intriguing history. Once upon a time the Indians that lived close by called this land bad and refused to settle there, but that was a long time ago and sure there have been some odd events now and then. Like young Lucy that apparently ate her husband and then disappeared and of course the well-known mining accident that claimed all the residents except one person. But that was a long time ago, this is a sweet ordinary town. And, now the yearly festival his here and it's bound to be an exceptional event…
 
John and Erma are traveling across the country to start anew and happen to get stranded in the town because of car problem. But it's such a charming town with friendly people so they decided to go to the festival and when the car is fixed continue travel. But something is really wrong in the town, people are acting strange and could it be something true to the old saying that the land is cursed?
 
Reading this book was like riding a rollercoaster. Everything starts slowly and suddenly it's free fall and it you just have to cling to the handles and just enjoy the ride. Well, it's a bit different when it comes to this book since riding a rollercoaster wagon doesn't include gore, blood and horror.
 
I really liked the interesting back-story with the mining accident. I just knew that there must have been something more than just an accident and I eagerly turned the pages to learn what the hell is wrong with the people and the city, what really happened in the past?
 
This is a book for people with a strong stomach. The story can be a bit nasty and there are children involved in this story and if you have a problem with that should you probably not read it. I actually could take it better than I usually do, but I think that's because it's not a thriller, but a horror book. I find crime closer the reality actually worse than things that are paranormal. But as a horror book it's really good, well written and interesting and there are no parts that bog down the story. In other words a really good horror book!

 

 

About Heather Herrman

Heather Herrman explores American society through horror fiction. She holds an MFA from New Mexico State University, and her work has appeared in such publications as Alaska Quarterly Review, The South Carolina Review, and Snake Nation Review. Herrman’s fiction has also been honored with a Frank Waters Fiction Prize and a scholarship to the Prague Summer Program for Writers.

Connect with Heather

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

 

 

Heather Herrman’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Monday, May 25th: It’s a Mad Mad World

Tuesday, May 26th: Peeking Between the Pages

Wednesday, May 27th: 100 Pages a Day

Monday, June 1st: Sweet Southern Home

Tuesday, June 2nd: Kahakai Kitchen

Wednesday, June 3rd: From the TBR Pile

Thursday, June 4th: Bell, Book & Candle

Friday, June 5th: Books that Hook

Tuesday, June 9th: Bibliophilia, Please – Author guest post “Why the Best Horror Authors are Fem”

Tuesday, June 9th: The Reader’s Hollow

Wednesday, June 10th: Bibliophilia, Please

Thursday, June 11th: The Best Books Ever

Friday, June 12th: Open Book Society

Monday, June 15th: Bewitched Bookworms – Review & author guest post “Why Women Should Read More Horror”

Tuesday, June 16th: Life is Story

Wednesday, June 17th: Bibliophiliac

Wednesday, June 17th:  No More Grumpy Bookseller – Review & author guest post “Writing Through”

Thursday, June 18th: The Road to Here

Friday, June 19th: Bibliophilia, Please – author guest post